The hope of many in Miami may be that if the day ever arises where they are no longer able to care for themselves, family members or friends will be able to step in and see to their needs. However, if you have a loved one who has reached that point, your circumstances may not allow you the time and resources needed to provide for him or her. If he or she is not able to afford a caregiver, then having him or her placed under the care of a professional guardian may need to be considered.
The prospect of entrusting a stranger with your loved one’s well-being may be extremely difficult. Plus, the concern that such an individual may attempt to exploit your family member or friend is ever present. Understanding the exact qualifications required to be a professional guardian in Florida may help you in making the most informed decision possible in this situation.
According to Florida state law, a person seeking to become a professional guardian must:
- Receive a minimum of 40 hours of instruction and training, followed by 16 hours of continuing education every two calendar years after that
- Allow an investigation into his or her own credit history, as well as those of any of his or her employees
- Allow a level 2 background screening on him her herself, as well as any of his or her employees
- Demonstrate competency (through an examination) of his or her ability to act as a professional guardian
Furthermore, one must post a fiduciary bond in the county where he or she works, as well as register with the Office or Public and Professional Guardians before earning this distinction.